Tags

,

Robin Griggs Wood - Google+ -

Image by Robin Griggs Wood. Some of my ancient crystal button earrings (they must be ancient; I got them when I was a youngling … ;o7)

“Cute as a Button”

Ever wonder where that phrase comes from? 
I mean … because, um,  buttons … are they really all that cute? 
(How many times do you find yourself thinking, “Omigosh, those buttons on his shirt … they’re so adorable I could just eat them!!”?)

Like so many idiomatic phrases we use in the English language, the full phrase became truncated over long use. Like “happy as a clam” left us wondering if God endowed the lowly clam with a better faculty for deriving satisfaction from life. (The original phrase was “happy as a clam at high water”, which was a big “Ah-hah!” and a clap on the forehead for me when that revelation came about.) 

“Cute as a button quail” was the original full phrase.
And button quails are somewhat cute … er, if you compare them to, say, a chicken …

(image via Marker Poultry)


They are at least cute enough to eat.

via HolyCuteness.com

(Image via holycuteness.com)

But I’d rather hold it and say, “Awww, it’s cute as a button!” 

.

.

.

Full post: Robin Griggs Wood – Google+ – “Cute as a Button” Ever wonder where that phrase comes….

.

.

.

.

.

